Frequency North

Frequency North Featuring Melissa Febos and Eduardo C. Corral

Frequency North

The Frequency North Writers Series continues next week, November 15, at The College of Saint Rose featuring readings by former dominatrix-turned-author Melissa Febos and prize-winning young poet Eduardo C. Corral.

Melissa FebosMelissa Febos is the author of the critically acclaimed memoir, Whip Smart: The True Story of a Secret Life (St. Martin’s Press 2010), which Kirkus Reviews said “expertly captures grace within depravity.” Among other places, she has been featured on NPR’s “Fresh Air with Terry Gross,” Anderson Cooper’s daytime show, “Dr. Drew,” the cover of the New York Post and New York magazine. Her writing has been published and anthologized in venues including GlamourSalonBOMBDissentThe Southeast ReviewThe Brooklyn RailThe New York TimesThe Chronicle of Higher Education Review and The Nervous Breakdown. For five years, she has co-curated and hosted the popular Mixer Reading and Music Series at Cake Shop in New York. A 2010 and 2011 MacDowell Colony fellow and a 2012 Bread Loaf Fellow, Febos speaks widely and lives in Brooklyn, where she is working on a novel about music, madness and dioramas.

Eduardo C. CorralEduardo C. Corral’s first book of poems, Slow Lightning (Graywolf Press), won the 2011 Yale Series of Younger Poets competition. His work has appeared or is forthcoming in Beloit Poetry JournaljubilatNew England ReviewPloughsharesPoetry and Post Road. He’s the recipient of a Whiting Writers’ Award and the J. Howard and Barbara M. J. Wood Prize from Poetry and has been honored with a “Discovery”/The Nation award and residencies from The MacDowell Colony and Yaddo. A CantoMundo fellow, Corral serves as the interview editor for Boxcar Poetry Review.

Daniel Nester has brought some of the biggest names in writing into town for the past couple of years through this series. This is the last reading for 2012, the series picks up on February 7, 2013 with poets from the Nitty Gritty Slam. You can check to the entire 2012 – 2013 schedule here.

Comments are closed.